house 082

Red is my favorite color and I have always had it in my house in some way.  I knew that I wanted to paint a piece of furniture red for a long time but also knew it would have to be the right piece.  I’m pretty sure I have found it.

Image

This was a Value Village find.  One of those that I saw from the front of the store when I first walked in and didn’t have to think about it long before I knew it was coming home with me.  It was an added bonus that I had my parents with me.  Value Village has a senior discount that made this a steal at $17.  I love the history that I image to be in this piece.  An old wooden gun case that I’m sure could tell many stories.

Image

The bottom part was locked and with no key the lady at the store was very clear that they could not be held responsible for anything found inside of it.  I imagined all kinds of things.  Old weapons or ammo, maybe some photos or keepsakes.  Shoot why not a stash of old cash.  Okay that was a little overly hopeful but I did have to laugh when I opened it up and found the tiniest pocket knife I have ever seen.

Image

I’ve decided it only seems right to keep these two pieces together so the knife remains in the case with a little story to tell.

I used Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint in Emperor’s Silk.  This was the first piece I used the dark wax on and I love the results.  It does seem a little tedious to have to use that clear and dark wax followed up by a final coat of clear wax.  That being said I think it was well worth the results that I got .  I knew I wanted to put some shelves in it  and use it as a bookcase so was extremely grateful to find a package of three shelves for $2 at the Habitat for Humanity Restore.  Perfect.  A coat of black paint and it really did add a nice touch.

Image

The door on the bottom had a handle on it that was kind of a rusty brown finish.  It clearly showed it’s age but I wanted to keep as much of the original piece as possible.  I removed it from the bottom sprayed it and the hinges with black spray paint and moved it to the top glass door.  It really is one of my favorite parts of the final project.

Image

This is currently the only piece of furniture that I have in the front living room but it really does make for a great first impression.

Image

Image

Image

As an added bonus for the room, I found a little round table that was already painted red.  a Fresh coat of paint and the dark wax and it is a great match to this piece.

Image

Lord it’s in your hands!

