Image

When I first moved into my old house 8 1/2 years ago everything was blue…….everything.  The walls. The bathroom.  The stairs.  Inside.  Outside.  Unfortunately the blue was reminiscent of the inside of a school bus.  Not modern in any way.  I am sure this is why I have avoided using blue for ANYTHING.  The truth is  that I don’t have anything against blue….really….i just wanted to make it anything that it wasn’t before.  Now as I begin to prepare to move into the new house I have found myself very attracted to the idea of blue.  I fell in love with Annie Sloan’s Aubosson blue chalk paint.  I began looking for a small piece that I could use as an end table to my couch and that wouldn’t be blue overkill.  I found it at Goodwill, (big surprise) it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for but I saw some potential and honestly I was tired of looking.

Image

What you can’t see in the picture is how filthy it was.  Pretty sure I found everything from nail polish to maple syrup to magic marker to dried snot……seriously.  GROSS!  Nothing that a good scrubbing couldn’t fix.  I gave everything two coats of paint.

Image

After distressing it slightly I wanted to see how the chalk paint worked with the antiquing glaze. Turns out just fine actually.  Add a coat of clear wax and I was happy with the results.

Image

Image

Of course the finishing touch was one of my favorites.  I climbed through mountains of “stuff” in my storage unit to find my box of knobs to find just the right one.

blue table2Blue table1

 

Meanwhile why wandering through an estate sale I kept picking up these candle sticks.

Candle sticks2

I didn’t dislike the color of them but I knew it wouldn’t work for me.  They wanted $25 for the pair and after picking them up, putting them down, picking them up and putting them down, I offered them $10 and brought them home with me.

A little paint and some glaze and they will be perfect for on top of this dresser I finished yesterday!

candle sticks3

