Image

As I continue to work on the new dining table I have come to realize that a beautiful table will be a challenge without a place to sit.  Oh I suppose I could have my guests sit on the floor, maybe pull up the couch or a lawn chair but I would like them to come back again at some point.  I know what chairs I want but I also know that it will take a while to be able to afford them. 

Last week a stroll through the Salvation Army store  brought me to a very sturdy but sadly outdated bench.  I once again didn’t get a complete before shot before “super dad” stepped in and dismantled it.  We are talking about less than 5 minutes after returning to the house.  Fast man with a tool in the west. 

Image

Image

The legs were painted green and the bench part was stained wood.  It was by no means ugly but needed updating to go with my decor.  I wanted a fresh and bright piece to go with my darkly stained table. 

I was able to score free padding to add to the wooden top of the bench.  My love/hate relationship with spray adhesive continued as I used it to secure the padding enough to hold while I upholstered it. 

Image

The fabric was a bright and fun pattern that I was able to find for 40% off plus my 15% teacher discount.  $8:00 for 1 and 1/2 yards.  Yeah!

Image

After stapling the fabric on, I reattached the legs back on to the bench. 

Image

Image

Image

This ended up being a fairly simply project that made a huge impact.  Total cost of $43.  Just one of the reasons I love this bench.

Image

Lord it’s in your hands!

 

