For the last four or five years I have planned to make something for my students for the first day of school.  The problem always came that I waited until the last week before school and as you can imagine there were many other things that would come up.  It always came to the last night before school and I would have to say, “I just don’t have the time.”  However this year I have planned ahead, amazing how that always helps!  Earlier this summer I saw an idea on pinterest that I wanted to give a try.  One of the places I saw this idea was at this website http://blackberryvine.blogspot.com/2010/08/back-to-school-treat.html. Rollo pencils!!

Image

Things you will need:

Packages of Rollo’s candies

Hershey’s kisses

3 1/2 X 4 1/2 inch piece of yellow paper

1 X 3 1/2 inch piece of pink paper

1 inch pink circle

Small amount of tinfoil

Image

Image

I used a glue gun to attach all of the different pieces.  It worked very well, however I burned off the tips of nearly all my fingers.  (I’m thinking tape would be less hazardous.)

Attach the Hershey kiss to one end of the Rollo pack.

Image

Put on the pink end circle as well as the 1 inch piece on the opposite end of the Rollo’s.

Image

Next wrap the yellow paper around the middle of the roll.  I wrote on mine first, but you wouldn’t need to put on a message at all if you don’t want to.

Image

The last thing that I added was a small amount of tinfoil around the bottom of the eraser.

Image

I really like how these turned out.  I hope they bring smiles to my nervous 3rd graders on the first day of school.

Image

Note to self……my next project will not involve a glue gun!

It’s in the Lord’s hands!

