My 93 year old great aunt has lived an amazing life.  I’m not sure I could list all of the countries she visited or lived in.  For years she was a missionary in Africa.  Lived for a time in Paris, Spain, Florence, and many more I am not sure of.  So when it became very clear a couple of months ago that she needed to be moved to a nursing home we knew the task of cleaning out her tiny little apartment would be a large one.  She was a self proclaimed artist.  We found nearly 150 paintings in her apartment.  far more than we could give homes to.  There were antique pieces of furniture, enough vintage jewelry for entire cabaret show and Tupperware to store enough food for a year.  Of course amongst those things were bag after bag of trash.  Junk, useless things that no one can fathom why they were there.  Now I’m sure you can imagine that myself being a crafty person often likes to collect pieces of junk and see what I can make them into.  I was good, so proud of myself.  Passing up possible project after possible project, However I couldn’t pass it all up.  I collected hundreds of buttons she had saved as well as clothespins and a couple pieces of furniture that I will be re-purposing in the near future.  Along with those things I found a small stack of metal trays.  Now when I tell you that these were ugly……I meant it.  But there had to be some possibly in there right?Image

Image

 

So you have seen the pictures and you know what I was working with.  Earlier this week my aunt asked if we could have a crafting day.  We both work in schools so free time is ample at this time of year or should be at least.  So then began the transformation.  There was glue, paint, chalkboard paint, ribbons magnets and lots of time.  I think we did okay.  🙂

Image

Magnetic button checker board!

Image

Chalk, magnet board.  I had some old flowered scrapbook paper that I cut apart. Not sure what I will do with it yet but know it could make a great gift for someone else.

Image

My Aunt’s master piece, a gift for her best friend.

So as I told you before I am a very messy crafter.  It’s an organized mess of course (or at least that is what I tell myself.)  So it would  be expected then that someone would show up at the door to look at the house.  Yup just knocked right on the door.  Of course I let him in, I think it is a rule that you never turn away a prospective buyer.  So I gave him that messy tour and blessing upon blessing he came back later to show his girlfriend who would be the one buying the place.  As always they say what a wonderful place it is and how much they love it.  Then they walk away and it is in God’s hands.  Always so hard to wait but I just keep putting my trust in him.

On a completely different note there was a near death in the home last night.  My brand new smoke detector was very close to losing all it’s ability to function.  At about 3:30 a.m. I woke up.  Not really sure why I had woken up I decided to use the bathroom.  There was a sudden loud piercing sound and I realized what had taken me from my slumber.   Before all the connections were made I am sure I missed about a dozen heart beats and was at a level of alertness that no one should have at 3:30 in the morning.  After a very quick battery removal and a few moments of terror the alarm was quiet and I spent the next two hours trying to find sleep again.  I have been in a place of struggling for peace the last few days.  I feel God’s presence all around me.  I know the next week or two are going to be tough but I have no doubt that the Lord will provide me with everything I need for each moment.  Last night I was able to take a huge step thanks to his strength and although it left me restless in my sleep and struggling to feel that peace, I knew it was what God wanted me to do and someday I will look back and be so glad that it occurred.  I find myself on my knees all day just praying for God to carry my burdens and calm my heart.  I know that everything that has happened in the last year has been God’s will for my life.  I won’t hide that it has been the most painful time of my life and I have cried more tears than I thought were possible to come from one human being.  I still hurt but I long for joy and I know God will bring it to me.  I know better days are to come and I know the great healer is at work. I am such a blessed human being with so much to give praise for.  Father may your peace wash over my heart and your joy be the strongest feeling I have. 

It’s in your hands Lord!

